MAY 23 Drop-in to R.E.A.D. with Shalee WEDNESDAYS FROM 5:30-7:00 P.M.

Reading with Shalee resumes Wednesday, January 24 at 5:30-7:00 p.m.

Happy New Year!

Paws to R.E.A.D. with Shalee! Wednesdays 5:30-7:00 P.M.

Animals are ideal reading companions! They foster relaxation and listen attentively. When a dog is "listening" fear of failure is removed, allowing a reader  to progress at their own pace.

FREE,  DROP IN EVENT with READING REWARDS

The dog’s handler is a trained facilitator. Please call ahead to confirm scheduling. 920.748.6160

 

Read for a Cause - Summer 2018

Read For A Cause 2018

As part of the Ripon Public Library’s summer 2018 reading program for all ages, $500 will be divided among these 3 area charitable causes, courtesy of the Friends of the Ripon Public Library: Green Lake Area Animal Shelter, 1000 Books Before Kindergarten, Ripon Santa Club.

Registered participants in the summer reading program earn a vote, which they may cast for the cause of their choice, each time they check out library materials June through August. Voting results will be announced at the end of August with first place receiving $250, second $150, and third $100. The $250 recipient will present a library program highlighting their cause within 6 months of the award.

Previous recipients include Ripon Noon Kiwanis’ Splash Pad, Ripon Community Food Pantry, K-9 Cop Rony, Little White Schoolhouse, Ripon Public Library’s Makerspace, RAFD’s Emergency Service Drone, Little Free Library, and Ripon Public Library’s Kiwanis-sponsored Toy Library. 

Organizations that would like to be considered in the future may print and fill out an application and return it to the library to the attention of Linda DeCramer.PDF icon Read For A Cause application.pdfPDF icon

 

SYNC returns for another summer of free audiobook downloads

SYNC returns April 26 for another summer of free audiobook downloads:

New audiobooks post each Thursday, from April 26 through July 25, 2018. Click here for the SYNC Audiobook Schedule for 2018 and to listen to sample audioclips for each week's book giveaways.

AudioFile Magazine is gearing up to give readers free audiobook downloads ALL summer long! SYNC has been offered since Summer 2010 and returns on April 26, 2018 as AudioFile Magazine’s commitment to introducing the listening experience to teens.

SYNC audiobook titles are given away in themed pairs. Each week, two different books (one modern Young Adult book and one classic book) will be available to download for FREE. You have just those 7 days to download the audiobooks before the next two books are available, but then they are yours to keep FOREVER. All you need to participate is an email address and OverDrive for your phone or computer.

Sign up for email or text alerts and be first to know when new titles are available to download at www.audiobooksync.com.

Book Bingo Challenge - Adults (ages 16+)

We're trying a fun new reading challenge for adults (ages 16+): Book Bingo! You have from now until July 31 to complete as many Bingo Book spaces as you can. Write the book titles in the spaces you've completed and have library staff initial your bingos. 5 completed bingos earns you a free book of your choice from the book sale shelf. 6+ completed bingos earns you an entry into our gift bag drawings (chocolate, tea/coffee, book sale gift certificates, bookmarks & more!). Stop by the library to pick up your Book Bingo sheet today!

MAY 29 Book Discussion Group

Join us for the Friends of the Library book discussion group!  May's selection is "The Night Circus" by Erin Morgenstern.  Copies of book discussion selections are available to check out at the library while supplies last.

From Amazon.com:

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER 

Two starcrossed magicians engage in a deadly game of cunning in The Night Circus,the spellbinding bestseller that has captured the world's imagination.

The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. Within the black-and-white striped canvas tents is an utterly unique experience full of breathtaking amazements. It is called Le Cirque des Rêves, and it is only open at night.But behind the scenes, a fierce competition is underway: a duel between two young magicians, Celia and Marco, who have been trained since childhood expressly for this purpose by their mercurial instructors.

Unbeknownst to them both, this is a game in which only one can be left standing. Despite the high stakes, Celia and Marco soon tumble headfirst into love, setting off a domino effect of dangerous consequences, and leaving the lives of everyone, from the performers to the patrons, hanging in the balance.

June 21 - The Life of Mozart

Traveling Lantern Theatre presents the Life of Mozart

 Thursday . June 21 . 10:30 a.m.

Musical genius, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, was also known for being hilarious! Meet the music, man, and times in which he lived in this gleeful play!

All events are FREE thanks to the generosity of the Friends of the Ripon Public Library!

JUNE 21 Meal Prepping – Dinner’s Magic Wand (Ages 14+)

The Magic of Healthy Cooking Series (14+)

Integrative Nutrition Health Coach, Brenda Block, wants you to take advantage of the delicious, fresh produce summer has to offer. Her monthly cooking series focuses on how using the right techniques can deliver delicious, healthy meals to your family.

Meal Prepping – Dinner’s Magic Wand | June 21 at 6:30 P.M.

It is easy to feel overwhelmed in today’s busy society where to-do lists are never ending.  Cooking a healthy meal at the end of a long day can feel like an exhausting, if not impossible task. This class explores time and budget friendly techniques for prepping and storing foods ahead of time that will leave others wondering how you prepared a healthy meal for them in just 15 minutes! Wave that magic wand and make something healthy and wonderful to eat.

Dont miss the rest of the Magic of Healthy Cooking Series, Thursdays at 6:30 P.M. this summer:

  • How to use Seasonal Produce – New Veggie Hocus Pocus | July 19

  • Abracadabra Flavor Profiles – New Meal, Same Foods! | August 16

JUNE 25 Book Discussion Group

Book cover imageJoin us for the Friends of the Library book discussion group!  May's selection is "The Night Circus" by Erin Morgenstern.  Copies of book discussion selections are available to check out at the library while supplies last.

From Amazon.com:

One of PopSugar's "25 Books You're Going to Curl Up with this Fall."

"The Other Einstein takes you into Mileva's heart, mind, and study as she tries to forge a place for herself in a scientific world dominated by men."-Bustle

In the tradition of The Paris Wife and Mrs. Poe, The Other Einstein offers us a window into a brilliant, fascinating woman whose light was lost in Einstein's enormous shadow. It is the story of Einstein's wife, a brilliant physicist in her own right, whose contribution to the special theory of relativity is hotly debated and may have been inspired by her own profound and very personal insight.

Mitza Maric has always been a little different from other girls. Most twenty-year-olds are wives by now, not studying physics at an elite Zurich university with only male students trying to outdo her clever calculations. But Mitza is smart enough to know that, for her, math is an easier path than marriage. And then fellow student Albert Einstein takes an interest in her, and the world turns sideways. Theirs becomes a partnership of the mind and of the heart, but there might not be room for more than one genius in a marriage.

JUNE 26 Books N' Brew

Tuesday, June 26 at 6:00 P.M.
Catch up with what other readers are enjoying over a cup of coffee on Tuesday, June 26 at 6 P.M. at Mugs Coffeehouse at this adults-only event! Unlike traditional book clubs, there are no assigned books. Instead, read what you like and then choose how you share your reading experience. A library staff member will be on hand to offer reader’s advisory to get you hooked on your next favorite read!

JUNE 29 Teen NERF Battle @ Your Library (Ages 12-17)

Friday, June 29th at 6:00 PM

Embrace your inner child during a night of after-hours fun. NERF guns, "Elite" dart-style ammo, glow sticks, and snacks provided. B.Y.O.B. (bring your own unmodified blaster) too! A small number of NERF blasters will be available to borrow. "Elite" dart-style NERF guns only please.

**Parent/Guardian will need to sign a waiver for their teen in order for them to participate.**

The doors will be locked at 6:00 P.M. when the program starts. Please arrive beforehand to sign waivers.